About Us

ask us


In 1917 Leo Harmon who was the President of the Consolidated Lumber Company took the lead for starting up The State Savings Bank, the Articles of Incorporation were filed on May 7, 1917. Shortly after, on June 11TH the bank held its first meeting of shareholders twenty-five of which were local and three from St. Paul. The Bank was then open for business on July 7, 1917. Over time the bank branched out to several other locations. Our Westside Branch was opened July of 1970 following that was our Gulliver Branch which opened December of 1977. Our Curtis and Naubinway Branches were purchased from North County Bank and Trust in November of 2001. Both the Main Branch and Curtis Branch have been relocated from their original locations and Naubinway was closed March of 2015.
In July of 2017 the State Savings Bank celebrated its 100 year anniversary. State Savings Bank prides itself on giving back to the community and local organizations. 

State Savings Bank of Manistique

Original Board of Directors

Bruce Odell Henry Neville Emanuel Larson
Leo Harmon Gottfrid Johnson John Reagan
John Coffey Edward Wescott Paul Reagan

Original Officers

Leo Harmon President
John Coffey Vice-President
Henry Neville Cashier
Vernette Larson Assistant Cashier

Bank Presidents Past to Present

Leo Harmon 1917-1926 HK Bundy 1960-1971
William J Shinar 1926-1955 Clyde Strasler 1971-2000
Everett Cookson 1955-1960 Mark Larche 2000-2019
Chris Gonyea Present    


FDIC logo         Home           Privacy           Disclosures           Site Map           Contact Us            Get Adobe Reader          facebook link


State Savings Bank ©Copyright 2023 All rights reserved.